First Tee Massachusetts, Kyzar Joshi, Selected to First Tee College Scholarship Program

Tim Carlson, Kyzar Joshi, Kyle Harris

 First Tee participants from Minnesota, Massachusetts, San Francisco and Orange County, Calif. have each been awarded scholarships and selection in to the First Tee College Scholarship Program. The teens were selected following their participation in the First Tee Leadership Series and Summit in partnership with PGA TOUR Superstore based on their intentional and innovative commitment to personal growth and development as leaders throughout the course of the program.

Kyzar is 17-year-old high school senior at Ashland High School in Ashland, Mass. He has been involved with First Tee for more than 10 years. He holds a 4.12 GPA and his career aspirations include playing college golf and majoring in finance or economics in college.  Kyzar serves as his class treasurer, and helped lead the Ashland High School golf team to the state section tournament. Kyzar is in the process of completing the ACE level of the First Tee Curriculum.

“We are extremely proud of Kyzar and this honor is well deserved,” said Director of Operations Kyle Harris. “Kyzar has been a dedicated First Tee participant for many years and is committed to living out the values of our program. He put in the work and got a lot out of our local leadership series, and then was clearly a standout at the Leadership Summit in Montana. On the golf course, in the classroom, and in his community, Kyzar continues to be an outstanding representative of First Tee Massachusetts and we’re thrilled that he will have this level of support through his college experience.”

As First Tee Scholars, the teens will receive support throughout their post-graduate careers. The need and merit-based program provides scholarships up to $5,000 per year, renewable for up to four years of college admission. In addition, each scholar is paired with a dedicated, trained adult mentor who will help encourage and guide them throughout the college experience, including virtual and in person meetups. The program also provides professional development workshops held in person throughout the year.

“We are very proud of these four deserving teens from across the country,” said Greg McLaughlin, First Tee CEO. “They each showed dedication and impressive character traits throughout the Leadership Series and Summit.  They are leaders in their schools, at home and at their First Tee chapters. Through the First Tee College Scholarship Program, we will continue to support them in their personal and professional development and empower them to hone their leadership skills as they pursue their careers. We’re thankful for partners like PGA TOUR Superstore who support these game changing initiatives.”

The four teens were selected from the more than 250 participants who attended the Leadership Series and Summit.  Boasting an average GPA of 3.9 the teens meet the College Scholarship Program eligibility requirements which are based on academic performance, length and involvement in First Tee programs, financial need and commitment to volunteerism.

First Tee College Scholarship Program is made possible by donors and corporate partners who stand behind the program and First Tee’s mission. For more than a decade, PGA TOUR Superstore and PGA TOUR Superstore Chairman Arthur M. Blank have championed First Tee’s mission through charitable and in-kind donations across the country. In September 2020, PGA TOUR Superstore announced a new grant that will help First Tee reach more youth across the U.S. and strengthen its curriculum for teenage participants, including the development of the Leadership Series and Summit.

“We are committed to being a positive influence in our communities and truly believe in the positive impact sports has in developing and supporting youth,” said Dick Sullivan, President & CEO, PGA TOUR Superstore. “We are proud to partner with the First Tee to empower young people with values-based leadership skills that will help them succeed throughout the course of their life. Congratulations Gabriella, Jaylyn, Kyzar and Saloni.”

Photos and b-roll of the Scholars is available here.